Category Archives: Compositions

PS Quartet No.1 – for game controllers and computers

PS Quartet No.1 is a piece for Sony DualShock 4 Controllers and computer. All sound and graphics were created with SuperCollider. This piece is written for small to large laptop ensembles.

The piece was premiered and recorded by EMEWS (Electronic Music Ensemble of Wayne State). In the recording above, the piece was performed by the following members (from left to right)

  • Sean Monaghan
  • Laura Apolloni
  • James VanRysseghem
  • Joey McLennan
  • Charles Moore

This piece can be performed by anyone with a PlayStation controller and a computer. Instructions, scores, and necessary codes are available at the following link:

I am particularly happy with the score of the piece!


Instructions for Hardware and Software Setup 


  • 4 X Playstation 4 Dualshock Game Controller
  • 4 X Computers running SuperCollider ( )
  • 4 X Audio Cables to connect the computer’s audio output to the speakers
  • 4 X Speakers (or to the house mixer if)
  • Each part can be performed by multiple performers if more hardware is available

Syncing PS4 controller to the computer via Bluetooth

  1. Turn the computer’s Bluetooth on. Open Bluetooth preference
  2. Hold PS+Share Buttons in the Dualshock Game Controller for few seconds until the light starts to blink
  3. The controller will appear as Wireless Controller in the Bluetooth Preference. 
  4. Click Pair

Some computers are hard to connect via Bluetooth. If this is the case, connect the controller with a USB cable.

Connecting PS4 controller to the computer via USB

  1. Turn off the computer’s Bluetooth to avoid a possible confusion
  2. The controller should be automatically paired with the computer whenever it is on

Software Setup

  1. Download the SuperCollider codes from 
  2. Turn on the controller before opening SuperCollider
  3. Open SuperCollider
  4. Each performer opens one of the files from PSQ1-Soprano, Alto, Tenor, or Bass according to his/her part and the connection (there are different files for USB nd Bluetooth)
  5. Go to Menu->Language->Evaluate File. The screen will become black and the patch is ready to start.
  6. To quit or stop, press command+. (period) or an equivalent shortcut of Stop in Menu->Language

Monophonic Triplets (2017) for Multiple Desktops

Monophonic Triplets was inspired by Poeme Electronique, which introduced site-specific electronic music to a great population in 1950’s. It is also my attempt to convert a ubiquitous space and tool into an expressive instrument.


The video above is a small-scale demo and a technical demonstration. Imagine this piece in a computer lab or a gallery. The piece can be easily transferred and extended to a large number of computers.

If you are interested in running Monophonic Triplets in a computer lab or a gallery, contact me at joowon(at)joowonpark(dot)net. I can create a customized code for any number of computers.

Link to SuperCollider Codes for Monophonic Triplets Quintet Version

Indescriptive (2017) for tenor saxophone and video

Indescriptive is for tenor saxophone and video. Headphone or a low-frequency friendly speaker is needed for the best listening experience. A video projection system and subwoofer are recommended for the performance. You won’t hear much in the first 30 seconds on phone/laptop speakers.

The piece was commissioned by Wayne State University Saxophone studio. It was premiered and recorded by Megan Parsell on 2017.

Scores and electronic part can be found in the link below. For the performance without the visuals, use Indescriptive-ElecAudio.mp3. A higher-quality audio can be provided upon request. Otherwise, use Indescriptive_ElecOnly.mp4 for the electronic accompaniment. If you feel adventurous, I can send you a SuperCollider version that will algorithmically change the electronic part at every performance. Just let me know.

Touch (2017) – for objects, computer, and synthesizer


Touch is a piece for found objects, computer, and a synthesizer. The sound of various ways of touching is amplified and enhanced with a custom music program. This recording is a submission for NPR Tiny Desk Contest. 

Touch is based on two of my old pieces: Toccata (2009) and 100 Strange Sounds  83 (2014). The title of the piece comes from a piece by Morton Subotnick, who is a big influence of my music.